Favorite Things: March 2013

Time for my favorite things from March!

1. Trying new, yummy recipes.

My sister and I cook and bake a lot, so we try new recipes fairly frequently, but sometimes we get into a rut and make the same, or mostly the same, meals each week.  However, we’ve tried and enjoyed a lot of new things this month, including a delicious chicken and chorizo dish, a homemade buffalo chicken salad with homemade bleu cheese dressing, and this delicious recipe for Red Roasted Carrots.

2. Sing-along piano bar.

Chantel and I joined our friend Vanessa at the monthly sing-along piano bar held at Brewster Street Icehouse the second Saturday of the month.  I’ve enjoyed this type of entertainment once before at Howl at the Moon in San Antonio several years ago, and I’m glad I have the opportunity to partake of it here in town now.  The guy who sings and plays piano at the show is very funny, and it’s cool to hear so many different songs (and types of songs) performed on piano and in different styles.  His accompanying drummer is funny too.  If you’ve never been to a sing-along piano bar, the idea is to write down a song request and place it on the piano with a “donation.”  It’s basically an all-request show, so you get to hear everything from Journey to Lady Gaga and Backstreet Boys to Tenacious D.  Additionally, the restaurant/bar that hosts the show had really good food and a nice, relaxed atmosphere with mostly open-air seating.

3.  Sales and discount stores.

I love shopping sales, and will frequently pass on buying something if it’s not on sale.  I prefer to get more for my money, which usually works out quite well.  I’ve managed to score $80 jeans for $24 at my favorite department store and buy really nice gifts for friends for a fraction of the regular price.  Something I was particularly excited by recently (in light of recently having my hair cut) was finding a hair product I’ve wanted to try for months at Marshall’s for $5.99 versus the $16 it would have cost me to buy it elsewhere.  Yay!

4. Celebrating with friends.

This month Chantel and I went to San Antonio for an early birthday celebration for our best friend Cynthia.  It was dubbed the Cynthernational Birthday Celebration and was a dinner part with Cynthia and a few of her closest friends.  The idea was that everyone would bring a different international/regional dish to share.  I made jambalaya, Chantel made mozzarella sticks, Cynthia made yellow curry, and there were also hot wings, a fruit platter, and beverages, including sparkling wine with slices of strawberry.  One of Cynthia’s childhood friends made the cake, a rich and delicious Hershey chocolate cake with orange extract.  So good!  And after the party, Cynthia, her roommate, Chantel, and I sat around watching “Pitch Perfect” and enjoying Fox Barrel pear ciders and munching on the leftovers.  It was very nice to enjoy that time with Cynthia and her other friends.

Onward, into April!

Leave a Reply

