My Kind of Shopping

I love shopping…probably more than I should.

One thing I really enjoy about shopping is finding great deals on items I really want or need.

My favorite department store is Dillard’s, and I often hear people complain about how they can’t afford to shop there, which is absolutely silly!  I rarely pay full price for anything at Dillard’s.  It’s just about searching the racks and staying on top of sales.

For example, the store frequently does sales where you can get an additional 30% or 40% off already reduced merchandise.  I love searching through the racks of clothes and jewelry marked down 30%, 40%, 50%, and sometimes more, and then saving an additional 30% or 40% on whatever I find.

Saturday I went shopping with Chantel and our mom and found several such deals.  I scored a leopard print Chaus dress that will be perfect for interviews, a comfy Calvin Klein t-shirt, a pair of Liverpool shorts, an adorable pajama set, a snazzy pink bracelet, and two pairs of dangly earrings.  I also snagged a pair of boyfriend capris at Kohl’s before the day was over.

Image

Retail, these items would have cost me $322.  On sale, they would have cost me $169.65.  And with the additional 30%, 40%, or 15% (at Kohl’s) off every item, the before-tax total of my shopping trip was only $104.55!

Unfortunately, my unwillingness to pay full price does occasionally cause me to miss out on items I love.  A few months ago I passed up two cute tops that, by the time they went on sale and I got around to looking for them, were gone.  This time, I saw a fantastic black lace handkerchief hem skirt that I would love to have if it looks good on me (I refuse to try it on while it’s still full price).  But until that $69 price that is struck through, I must resist.  Same goes for the awesome Gibson & Latimer faux leather-backed hi-low vest I’ve been eyeballing for months.

Ultimately, I just want people to know that, yes it does take some time and effort to shop smart and find the things you love for a great price, but it’s doable and, in my opinion, incredibly satisfying.

 Happy shopping!

Leave a Reply

